Tuesday, October 25, 2011

Johnson_Territory 2_The Nile Basin

Territory: The Nile Basin and Lake Victoria; its source

160 million people in 10 countries depend on the Nile and its tributaries
The Players:
Burundi, Rwanda, the Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC), Tanzania, Kenya, Uganda, Ethiopia, Eritrea, Sudan and Egypt

Legal Instruments: The Nile Water Agreement of 1929. This was signed by Britain on behalf of its East African colonies, and has been very resented by these nations since they have won independence, as it gives the majority of the water rights to the Nile to Egypt.
The 1959 Agreement for the Full Utilization of the Nile. This agreement between Sudan and Egypt gave Egypt 55.5 billion cubic meters per year and Sudan 18.5 billion cubic meters per year, effectively dividing the rights to the entire river between the two nations.

Points of Conflict: Ten nations border a river that has been divided between only two of them. In 2010 Rwanda, Ethiopia, Uganda and Tanzania signed a new agreement to share the Nile, without cooperation with Egypt and Sudan.

Sources: http://www.scienceinafrica.co.za/2003/may/nile.htm http://www.ethiopians.com/abay/engin.html

No comments:

Post a Comment